Media & Reviews

Trip Advisor, Jan 2016
“We are always apprehensive regarding restaurant plans on Valentine’s Day and New Year’s Eve. The expectations and crowds usually cause us to regret spending the money and time. However, this was the perfect way to celebrate. Amazing service, excellent food (filet mignon / lobster/ sea bass), wine, drinks, and desserts (best Cream Brule in Austin) Our party of six adults agreed we will be making this a new holiday tradition. We love Chez Zee and usually visit for the spectacular brunch and lunch – I’m so thankful we decided to wrap up 2015 at this great Austin restaurant."

Open Table, Dec 2015
“Whether it’s a family brunch or a romantic Valentine’s dinner, Chez Zee has it all. The food is perfectly prepared and the ambiance is local chic. Look for great service and a serviceable wine list. You won’t be disappointed.”

Open Table, Dec 2015
“Everything was absolutely wonderful. We had reservations for 12 noon Sunday brunch to celebrate my daughters 13th bday. We show up at 1155 and are seated immediately. The table had a happy birthday sign and other bday decorations on it. The service was excellent and very prompt but not in a way that made us feel rushed. Additionally the piano player visited our table asking our daughter if she had a favorite song, and then he played it! It was a grand time. Now the food- extremely tasty. We left completely stuffed. Must try the special French toast as an appetizer. It was absolutely delicious. Perfect for our special celebration. It is no wonder this place has had just a long standing reign in Austin dining.”

Open Table, Jan 2016
“This was our third New Year’s Eve at Chez Zee. We love the atmosphere, the food is consistently delicious, and the service is impeccable. I love the fact that the wait staff seems to be trained in the style of fine European restaurants … Always there when you need them, but never bothersome or hovering. It is now a family tradition to spend New Year’s Eve at Chez Zee!”

Open Table, Jan 2016
“Chez Zee had been a special occasion place for our family for many years. We love the atmosphere, the service, and of course the desserts. Great for small or large parties and special events.”

Yelp, Jan 2016
“This is our go to when we need a restaurant conducive to talking, someplace pretty with beautiful surroundings and someplace festive yet sophisticated (live piano music). All the art and the lighting really adds to the experience. The bread and olive oil at the beginning of the meal is top notch. The menu has something for everyone. I always sit in the front room and I try to be there when the piano music is happening…If you would like a nice place to take a date or out of town visitors that won’t break the bank, Chez Zee is a good option. Try to sit in piano area and your date will be impressed.”

Open Table, Dec 2015
“Chez Zee is a veteran of the Austin restaurant scene. I think of them for brunch or for late night coffee and dessert (their baked goods are amazing). But in this case my friend and I came in for an early dinner before a show. We told our server about our timeline, and she did a great job of managing the schedule so we got out on time but never felt rushed. We both had the bacon wrapped filet, which was tender and delicious. I feel like I can always count on Chez Zee to deliver very good food and good service.”

Trip Advisor, Dec 2015
“Delightful setting in the midst of Austin. Worth the traffic horror to get there. Four of us had dinner and were not disappointed.. Two had pasta, one had fish cooked to perfection and I had the lobster stuffed shrimp on beets, most unusual and delectable. We all had scrumptious desserts – sticky toffee pudding, chocolate cake and husband and I shared cranberry apple galette . You must check out the dessert table for its variety. Rose wine was reasonable and deliciously dry. Staff friendly and efficient.”

Yelp, Nov 2015
“I am a head over heels for this place. I am a dessert person and feel that Chez Zee offers the best in Austin. Their dessert menu is a beautiful thing…The restaurant is really pretty. It’s not really fancy but homey and warm with an abundance of little sparking lights. I love their patio the most – and I’m never the type to chose the patio over the inside portion of a restaurant. Chez Zee’s patio feels more like a terrace in the middle of a garden. It’s just so cute! If you come for brunch, they bring you complimentary warm croissants with strawberry butter. And you can get creme brulee french toast as an appetizer for the table! And they have creative mimosas – not just plain orange juice ones. I can’t afford to love this place as much as I do, but I visit a few times a year. I’ve come for dessert only a few times, and the servers never seem bothered by this like they do at other restaurants. So basically, if you are a dessert person do yourself a favor and check this place out. P.S. You wouldn’t know it from this review, but Chez Zee has non dessert items too.”

Yelp, Nov 2015
“I live in San Francisco but my parents live here in Austin, and Chez Zee has been a reliable spot for us to go for a nice-but-not-over-the-top dinner when I’m here. I am visiting right now because my dad’s health is declining very suddenly and rapidly, and moving and maintaining his balance is extremely difficult. Against what seemed like our better judgment, we made plans to go out last night to have dinner with a couple of my parents’ friends. Dad hadn’t been out of the house in a while and we were all a bit nervous something would go wrong. Dinner was nice, everyone was happy with our food, but what will leave me forever thankful is how welcoming and warm the staff was as my dad struggled with a walker that is still new to him, and his condition which is new to all of us. Our server, whose name I unfortunately didn’t catch, was especially wonderful throughout the meal without making a big deal out my dad’s limitations. As I was helping my dad to get up as we were ready to go home, my dad lost his balance and began to fell backwards. Our server was there, ready to catch his fall, which he did without any fanfare. He helped me right my dad, and on we went. The night would have ended really badly if he hadn’t been such a professional and had gone above and beyond. I thanked him and hugged him before leaving, and I wish I had gotten his name but I was a little ruffled. Anyway, thank you Chez Zee for helping my dad to have a rare and enjoyable night out with friends, and huge thanks to the gentleman server who seemed to inherently know what we needed for things to go smoothly. That is a someone who is exceptional at his job.”

http://www.austinmonthly.com/AM/February-2013/Top-of-the-Morning/

https://www.austinchronicle.com/daily/food/2014-12-05/culinary-ladies-of-the-eighties-sharon-watkins/

https://www.austinchronicle.com/daily/food/2015-03-17/the-kimmel-effect-on-austin-food/

https://www.opentable.com/m/best-brunch-restaurants-in-america-2017/

https://www.zagat.com/r/chez-zee-american-bistro-austin

http://do512.com/p/chez-zee-restaurant-of-the-week

http://do512.com/p/chez-zee-pies-and-sides 

http://austinot.com/chez-zee

https://www.austinchronicle.com/daily/food/2015-02-26/chez-zee-welcomes-guest-chef/

Tell us what you think! Click on the buttons below to leave a review on the site of your choice.

Google Reviews

Zagat Reviews

Open Table Reviews

Yelp Reviews


For reservations and wait times

Call: 512.454.2666

- OR -

Reserve Online